-- General --

Homepage About Updates
Log in

-- Articles --

All Articles What's New?
Random Page
Timeline Search Articles

-- Connections --

Comrades' Choice Silly Goose YouTube Willemstan Blog Willemstan Discord Server WCS Website

-- Tools --

Archive Article Templates Editor's Guide

The High School Student Shared

This article was last updated on October 14th of 2021.

Image at the top of the screen.

The Williamston High School "W" in HD form.

Lore

The High School Student Shared, officially called the "HS Student Shared", but commonly abbreviated to "Student Shared" was created sometime in 1998. Due to its age, almost all of the older files have been deleted, corrupted, or hidden by staff. The vast majority of its viewable content came from 2015 or later. The HS Student Shared's function essentially boiled down to a gigantic turn in basket. Teachers create folders for students to submit their work in, and some store their lesson plans there. At least, that's how it was supposed to work. The Student Shared received very little actual use, as websites like Google Classroom and Edmodo essentially does the same thing and are more convenient. The only major use it received is that the WHS Daily Announcements were stored in the server. The HS Student Shared could be accessed through any school computer, but you had to sign in with your school account. The total storage size of the High School Student Shared was over 400 gigabytes, and most of that was used up. The HS Student Shared was finally hidden from students in the summer of 2020, when the school finally stoped using their old Novell systems. It was replaced with a normal Windows SMTP network share which serves the same purpose. However, the network share seems to use part of the same hard drive or file network that the Student Shared used.


Permissions Given to the Students

All students could access the HS Student Shared. They could create new files, folders, etc and store them on the shared folder. It was very common for students to create a folder in the Student Shared, make a shortcut to it, and then use it as an extension to their private storage. However, this had obvious flaws, as all students could see said folder. Some students tried to warn a student who did this by making a text file, or editing a word document, telling them something along the lines of "Hey, you know we can all see this right?". However, some students were less kind, and erased much of the victim's schoolwork. However, no student can delete or erase a file or folder. This means that once you created something, it was there for forever. The most important power given to students was editing rights. While this is expected, as you would need this permission to edit word documents, it was actually a huge oversight on the school's part. You could open any file, video, image, etc with notepad, select everything, and then delete the contents. This completely erases the file, leaving a 0KB shell behind. This was an easy way to circumvent the file deletion ban. Students could also hide files by opening up a folder's properties, but this does little good, as some computers have their permissions messed up, so some students could see right through that. Students could also unarchive files in a similar manner, but doing so completely breaks the permissions system, and thus was strongly recommended against. Thankfully, all of this dumbassery was addressed with the whole network was scrapped in 2020.


Permissions Given to the Teachers and IT Men

The teachers and the IT Men appeared to have the same level of permissions, as there was no separate permission levels for them. They had the same permissions as the students, with the additional ability to delete files and edit folder permissions.


System I and System II

Main articles: System I & System II

The original System Folder was stored on the front page of the Student Shared, but only took up the smallest fraction of space before it was eventually deleted. System II still remained on the server until the very end, but was largely empty. It is worth noting that when you created something in the Student Shared, your name is recorded in the "Owner" section in file details. As a result, if you create something in the shared that the IT Men don't like, you will be tracked down.


A REALLY COOL FOLDER and A COOL FOLDER

Main article: Mrs. Baldwin

"A REALLY COOL FOLDER" and "A COOL FOLDER" were present on the HS Student Shared folder. They were created during Mrs. Baldwin's Web Technology Class by Ian, Dawson, and a couple others. These were both were eventually deleted by the IT Men as well. Dawson was summoned to the office for his role in creating these folders, and was told that his file "code to hack school website" was the reason for him getting in trouble. This file was literally just a text file containing the HTML code of the main page of the school website.


"Consume.bat"

The first Consume program was unleashed on the High School Student Shared once as a test. It only filled up a few megabytes.


24 Hour Shutdown of the HS Student Shared

During the 2018-2019 school year, the entire HS Student Shared was taken offline for 24 hours by a member of Willemstan. This occurred on November 12th of 2018, but completely by accident. The Willemstan member in question disabled the "read only" setting on the entire High School Student Shared, in effort to try and grant the ability to delete files. However, this just killed the permission system entirely. All students could no longer view the Student Shared, unless if their computer had improperly set up permissions. This was fixed the next day, when the student went onto one of the computers that could see hidden files, and then reversed the change, restoring the HS Student Shared. The IT Men did not notice, probably because they could still see it or did not react in time. Furthermore, not a single student to our knowledge noticed that the shared folder was gone, further proving that the Student Shared gets absolutely no love and attention.

The HS Student Shared being either restored or hidden.


End of the HS Student Shared

During the summer of 2020, the district scrapped their Novell software and established a new school network. After around 22 years of service, the HS Student Shared was finally put out of its misery... kind of. In its place, the new network arose. It features a much more robust permissions system (that is actually set up properly), and the infamous Test Test and Mud Mud accounts were removed. The status of the old files is largely unknown, but some parts of the Student Shared were able to be accessed in the spring of 2021 before all files were hidden. These included some elementary school and high school documents dating back to the early 2000s. The current status of the System II folder is unknown.